## **POLICY STATEMENT 52 | Non-issue of Personnel Licences**

Effective date of Implementation: 7 March 2022

**Rationale:** Schedule 3 of the Air Navigation (Overseas Territories) Order 2013 (as amended) sets out the type of licences that may be issued. For historical reasons, the list followed that in the UK Air Navigation Order although some of the types of licence included are not issued in the Territories. These are not covered in OTARs and are not required to be so by virtue of article 5(2) of the Order:

Nothing in this article requires the Governor to publish requirements in respect of a licence, certificate or other document if the Governor does not exercise the powers to grant the licence, certificate or document in question.

For the avoidance of doubt, this policy sets out the types of licence that are not issued in the Territories.

## **Policy Statement:**

1. The following types of licence included in Schedule 3 of the AN(OT)O are not issued:

Private Pilot's Licence (Aeroplanes)

Private Pilot's Licence (Helicopters)

Private Pilot's Licence (Gyroplanes)

Private Pilot's Licence (Balloons and Airships)

Commercial Pilot's Licence (Airships)

Commercial Pilot's Licence (Balloons)

Commercial Pilot's Licence (Gliders)

RPAS Pilot's Licence

Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Licence

2. In addition, the following licences listed in ICAO Annex 1 are not issued:

Commercial Pilot Licence (Powered Lift)

Multi-Crew Pilot (Aeroplane)

Airline Transport Pilot Licence (Airship)

Airline Transport Pilot Licence (Powered Lift)

Flight Navigator Licence

Flight Radiotelephone Operator Licence

Flight Operations Officer/Flight Dispatcher Licence.