The British Virgin Islands are on the outer edge of the Caribbean, 60 miles east of Puerto Rico. There are over 40 islands and islets covering a total of 2,141 sq km of sea. Of these 40 islands just 16 are inhabited including, Tortola (33.8 sq kms), Anegada (24.1 sq kms), Virgin Gorda (12.88 sq kms) and Jost van Dyke (5.5 sq kms). Some of the islands are volcanic, with sand beaches, coral reefs and diverse flora and fauna.

White sand beaches, turquoise water and vibrant culture


The Islands were initially discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1493. They became British Territories in 1666. In 1872 the territories were incorporated into the British colony of the Leeward Islands. A separate Governor was appointed to the British Virgin Islands in 1960.

Sandy bay at the British Virgin Islands


The British Virgin Island's lovely climate and beautiful scenery attract thousands of tourists every year. The Islands are also a base for international finance.

Photo of the British Virgin Islands from the air

Aeronautical Information Publications

Find out who to contact for information on the British Virgin Islands AIP.

Governor's Instructions

Find out more about Instructions issued by the Governor of the British Virgin Islands for the use of Virgin Gorda (Taddy Bay) Aerodrome.

map of British Virgin Islands

Fact File

  • Position: Eastern Caribbean
  • Governor: His Excellency Mr John Rankin
  • Premier: Dr the Honourable Natalio D Wheatley 
  • Airport: Terrance B Lettsome International Airport, Beef Island
    Telephone: +1 284 852 9000, Email:
  • There are also airports on Virgin Gorda and Anegada with flights from Beef Island
  • Capital City: Road Town, Tortola
  • Population: 30,030
  • Language: English 
  • Currency: US Dollar